Skip to main content
Tulane Home Tulane Home

Tulane Hypertension & Renal Center of Excellence ~ Faculty

The faculty members comprising the THRCE are from various different scientific backgrounds, but they work closely together in collaboration to put forth new ideas and focus their research on the further understanding of the basic mechanisms of hypertension and renal disease and on improving methods for diagnosis and treatment.


L. Lee Hamm, M.D.
Co-Director of THRCE
Senior Vice President & Dean
Professor and Chairman
Dept. of Internal Medicine
Tulane School of Medicine



L. Gabriel Navar, Ph.D.
Co-Director of THRCE
PI COBRE Phase III: Translational Research in Hypertension & Renal Biology
Professor and Chairman
Department of Physiology
Tulane School of Medicine

Tulane School of Medicine

Department of Physiology
Andrei Derbenev, Ph.D.
Prerna Kumar, Ph.D.
Dewan S. Majid, M.D., Ph.D.
Kenneth D. Mitchell, Ph.D.
Kailash N. Pandey, Ph.D.
Minolfa Prieto, M.D., Ph.D.
Ryosuke Sato, Ph.D.
T. Cooper Woods, PhD
Andrea Zsombok, Ph.D.

Department of Pediatrics
Samir El-Dahr, M.D.
Ihor Yosypiv, M.D.
Zubaida Saifudeen, Ph.D.

Department of Pathology
Suzanne Smith, M.D.

Department of Pharmacology
Philip Kadowitz, Ph.D.
sarah Lindsey, Ph.D.

Department of Surgery
Doug Slakey, M.D.

Tulane School of Medicine

Department of Medicine
Section of Nephrology & Hypertension
A. Brent Alper, M.D.
Vecihi Batuman, M.D.
Jing Chen, M.D., MSc.
Kathleen S. Hering-Smith, Ph.D..
Myra A. Kleinpeter, M.D.
Kevin N. Krane, M.D.
Min Li, M.D.
Nazih L. Nakhoul, Ph.D.
Eric E. Simon, M.D.
Federico J. Teran, M.D.

Section of Cardiology
Bysani Chandrasekar, Ph.D.
Patrice Delafontaine, M.D.
Thomas D. Giles, M.D.
Gary E. Sander, M.D., Ph.D.
Sergiy Sukhanov, Ph.D.

Section of Endocrinology
Vivian A. Fonseca, M.D.

Tulane School of Public Health & Tropical Medicine

Department of Epidemiology
Gerald S. Berensen, M.D.
Jiang He, M.D., Ph.D.
Lydia A. Bazzano, MD, PhD, MPH

Tulane School of Science and Engineering

Department of Biomedical Engineering
Walter Lee Murfee, Ph.D.

Ochsner Clinic Foundation

Julie Cook, M.D.
Edward Frohlich, M.D.
Richard Re, M.D.
Dinko Susic, M.D., Ph.D.

LSU Health Sciences Center

Department of Pediatrics
Section of Nephrology

Matti Vehaskari, M.D.

Department of Medicine
Efrain Reisin, M.D.

Department of Pharmacology
Daniel R. Kapusta, Ph.D.
Eric Lazartigues, PhD.
Kurt J. Varner, Ph.D.

Department of Physiology
Lisa Harrison-Bernard, Ph.D.