Tulane Home Tulane Shield logo linking to site home page

Pulmonary Diseases, Critical Care & Environmental Medicine

x-ray illustration of lungs

Welcome to the Tulane University Section of Pulmonary Diseases, Critical Care and Environmental Medicine. Everything we do is centered on our belief that the people of the gulf south merit local access to the best possible health care.  We teach foundations and innovations in medicine to the doctors of the future.  And because we hold dear our obligation to educate bright inquiring minds, we are dedicated to deliver evidence based and cutting-edge medicine.  What is more, we are devoted to research that will improve upon health care in the coming years.  We feel privileged to have made research contributions along the way, and look forward to shaping future advancements in health care.Read More

In step with Tulane Medical School's mission, our section is dedicated to provide:

  • State-of-the-art patient care
  • Outstanding educational opportunities to students, residents and fellows
  • Innovative and relevant clinical and basic research

Please don't hesitate to contact us by mail, phone or e-mail.

Joseph A. Lasky, MD
Professor of Medicine
Chief Section of Pulmonary Diseases, Critical Care & Environmental Medicine
John W. Deming, MD Endowed Chair in Internal Medicine

Hide this content.

Best Doctors - Congratulations to

Best Doctors

Dr. Joseph Lasky
Dr. Jaime Palomino
Dr. Ross Klingsberg​
Dr. Nereida Parada


These physicians were recognized as the best doctors of Pulmonary Medicine in the state of Louisiana by Best Doctors, Inc., a company that has built a database of professionals that are highly regarded by their peers. For a complete list, visit the New Orleans Magazine website.

Dr. Jay Kolls Receives Awards for Proposals on Pulmonary Infection

Jay Kolls, PhDDr. Jay Kolls has recently received awards for two proposals targeting pulmonary infection. One of the proposals, Immunology of COVID-19 is assessing the role of gene modifiers signaling an immune response to  SARS-CoV2. The second proposal studies "Immunotherapy against multi-drug resistant K. pneumoniae infections." Read more about the proposals here.

Recent Noteworthy Events

Dr. Jaime Palomino with portable ultrasound

Dr. Jaime Palomino has received a Carol Lavin Bernick Faculty Grant award for 2020-2021. The purpose of this project is to provide the Pulmonary/Critical Care Medicine Fellows with an ultra-portable ultrasound (US) probe that can be connected to a smart phone or a tablet, in order to enhance the ultrasound curriculum training during the three years of fellowship.


Dr. Anil Mishra renewed NIH RO1 is focused on the role of IL-18 in eosinophils associated allergic diseases. His laboratory has first time reported IL-18 active new subset of pathogenic eosinophils that are different from naïve eosinophils that reside in healthy individuals. Most recently, his laboratory has successfully generated IL-18-induced eosinophilic inflammation mediated murine models of pancreatic ductal carcinoma (PDAC) that has a potential to establish diagnostic and therapeutic interventions for PDAC.

Dr. Christine Bojanowski is the recipient of a 2-year NIH-sponsored LACaTS Roadmap Scholar Award. Her research focuses on lung immunology and host response to chronic sinopulmonary infections with important pathogens such as Staphylococcus Aureus and Pseudomonas Aeruginosa. Dr. Bojanowski recently received the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation Program for Adult Care Excellence (PACE) Award.

Dr. Shigeki Saito has recently received an NIH K08-award entitled “Inhibition of Histone Deacetylase 8 (HDAC8) as a Therapy for Pulmonary Fibrosis”.

Dr. Joshua Denson will be receiving a 2-year NIH-sponsored LACaTS Roadmap Scholar Award. His research will focus on ICU health care delivery and transitions of care. In addition, he was recently awarded grant support from the ADA for his proposal entitled Prognostic biomarkers for severity of disease in SARS CoV-2 and metabolic syndrome.

Dr. Jerry Zifodya has been selected as an NIH-sponsored BIRCWH Scholar. As a Tulane BIRCWH Scholar, he will be part of a comprehensive research training program that will assist him in becoming a highly trained, culturally competent, independent, interdisciplinary investigator. His research involves sex differences in lung and cardiovascular disease in Sub-Saharan Africa.

Dr. Ross Klingsberg has been offered the position of Director of the Mechanisms of Disease Course. This is the “anchor” course for Phase 2 of the Medical School Curriculum for second year students, teaching pathophysiology and pathology.