Tulane Home Tulane Shield logo linking to site home page

Faculty Spotlight

GWIMS is pleased to shine a spotlight on these
Women in Medicine and Science


Tulane Researcher One of Two Worldwide Named Gilead Sciences Research Scholar

Christine Bojanowski, MDOnly two researchers in the world will be named a Gilead Sciences Research Scholar in Cystic Fibrosis, and one is Tulane University’s own assistant professor of medicine Christine Bojanowski, MD. The program recognizes and supports emerging investigators in several medical fields including hematological malignancies, solid tumors, HIV, liver disease, and anti-fungal research in addition to Cystic Fibrosis (CF). Click to read more about Dr. Bojanowski's research. 


Dr. Mary K. Mulcahey, associate professor of Orthopaedics, is the first recipient of the SOM’s Women in Medicine Faculty Recognition Award.  The award, established in 2021, is presented in recognition of the leadership qualities of a physician or basic scientist, regardless of gender identity, who manifests excellence in clinical care, teaching, scholarship, mentoring, research, leadership, community service, or commitment to continuous learning, and who has exerted influence in fostering a better institutional environment by advocating for women’s issues. As assistant program director of the Orthopaedics residency program, Dr. Mulcahey serves as a mentor and role model, and promotes the active participation of women faculty in local and national leadership positions. Dr. Mulcahey is the director of the Women’s Sports Medicine Program at the Tulane Institute of Sports Medicine, and has been instrumental in the design, development, and leadership of a comprehensive approach to the care of active women.  She is the team physician for Tulane’s Women’s Indoor and Beach Volleyball teams, the Big Easy Rollergirls, New Orleans Women’s Rugby (the Halfmoons), NOLA gymnastics, as well as several of local all girls’ high schools.  Dr. Mulcahey is a member of the Gender, Diversity, and Inclusion Task Force for the International Society of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine (ISAKOS) and is the Secretary of the Ruth Jackson Orthopaedic Society.


Kendra Harris, MD

Dr. Kendra Harris found a silver lining in the coronavirus pandemic that has so greatly affected New Orleans. In mid-March, when the first COVID-19 case was recorded at Tulane hospital, Harris, chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology at the School of Medicine, wanted to give support to residents and other frontline healthcare workers, including nurses, custodians and registrars.

Under the leadership of School of Medicine Dean Lee Hamm, Harris partnered with university administrators to establish the Tulane Frontline Providers Fund: Green Wave Heroes. Since the fund began in April, generous donors have contributed almost $700,000 to assist with child-care services, nutritious meals and other support for Tulane healthcare workers on the front lines. The donations served double duty, supporting local restaurants who were struggling due to the pandemic.


Anjali Niyogi, MD

Dr. Anjali Niyogi, associate professor of internal medicine and pediatrics and holder of the Kylene and Brad Beers Professorship of Social Entrepreneurship, developed Letters from the Porch: New Orleans Serenades its Medical Community, featuring a series of front porch performances by area musicians and poets. The performances, which can still be viewed online, were filmed starting in March to say thank you to doctors, nurses, residents, technicians, housekeeping, food services and other staff working long hours at area hospitals during the pandemic. Funding for the project began through Niyogi’s professorship in The Phyllis M. Taylor Center for Social Innovation and Design Thinking; it then received substantial additional funding through Xylem Corporation.

The project team includes Dr. Niyogi and Dr. Harris as executive producers, as well as Jebney Lewis, free feral, Jinx Holliday, Holden Mauk, Zac Manuel, Marrion Hill and Zuri Obi.


Lauren Teverbaugh, MDDr. Lauren Teverbaugh, a Tulane pediatrician and child psychiatrist has been named a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Clinical Scholars Fellow. The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) has selected Tulane University School of Medicine pediatrician and child psychiatrist Dr. Lauren Teverbaugh as a Clinical Scholars Fellow.

The national leadership program connects changemakers across the country to learn from and work with one another in creating more just and thriving communities. Fellows collaborate on a project to address complex health problems.

RWJF awarded the team a three-year, $432,000 grant to design and implement their project to develop interventions and partnerships that promote trauma-informed spaces to treat and support children living with trauma.

To learn more or to listen to a podcast, click here.