Tulane Home Tulane Shield logo linking to site home page

Ivy Day Award Winners for 2023

June 01, 2023 3:45 PM

The Ivy Day Awards ceremony is held annually during Commencement week to honor graduating students at Tulane University School of Medicine.


Ivy Day traces its origin to 1909 when the eminent dermatologist and internationally acknowledged authority on Hansen’s Disease, Isadore Dyer, M.D., became Dean of the School of Medicine. He served as Dean until 1920. At the laying of the cornerstone of the Richardson building on the university campus that year, a sprig of ivy was brought from the School of Medicine building on Canal Street as a symbol of the transplanted and continuing part of the medical school. The tradition of Ivy Day is continued by the planting of ivy each year.

Students Somdeb Banerjee and Emma Newton were selected as this year's ivy planters. 

Tulane School Of Medicine Dean’s Award
Carly Ann Askinas
R. Chaz Chamberlin
Soo Hyun Choi
Erin Elizabeth Coonan
Nathaniel Pendleton Rogers, Jr.

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award
Helen Pope, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Faculty Advisor, Student Health Clinics

Richard W. Freeman Prize
Jennifer June Hayashi

Tulane Medical Alumni Association Student Recognition Award
Sydney Marie Galindez
Jenna Marie Matin

Achievement Award in Inter-American Friendship and Understanding
Jennifer June Hayashi
Arianne Delora Sacramento

American Academy of Neurology Medical Student Prize for Excellence in Neurology
Somdeb Banerjee

American College of Physicians Internal Medicine Award of Excellence
Jonathan David Rizner

American Medical Women’s Association Glasgow-Rubin Achievement Award
Carly Ann Askinas
Soo Hyun Choi
Erin Elizabeth Coonan

American Medical Women’s Association Glasgow-Rubin Achievement Citation
Dany George Hage
Lana Alexandra Kammerer
Kendall Elizabeth McDaniel
Victoria Mary-Kate McDermott
Caroline Young Rourke
Natalie Suder
Natalie Rita Weiss
Emily Sarah Zlotnick

Bick Scholarship Award
Hanna Debra Mercier

C. Thorpe Ray, M.D., Internal Medicine Award
Michael Edward Quarton, Jr.

Charles M. Nice Award in Radiology
Gerald Miles Bowers, Jr.

Department of Medicine Chairman’s Award
Jason Todd Worley

Dr. Adolph D. Henriques Award
Jacob William Greenberg

Dr. George H. Hauser Award
Wakeem Lenroy Yann Abraham

E. Edward Mccool, Jr., M.D. Award
Cameron William Belding
Erin Elizabeth Coonan

Excellence In Emergency Medicine Award
Jacob Ari Hurwitz

Gold Scapel Award
Jacob Matthew Broome

Harold G. Tabb, M.D, Award
Erika M. Moxley

Harry and Rose Caplovitz Medical Award
Emma Newton

Hymen S. Mayerson Award
Hunter Forrest Douglas

Jacob Ambrose Storck Award
John Timothy Prior

James W. McLaurin, M.D., Award
Natalie Rita Weiss

John A. King Memorial Award
Taylor Nicole Santoro

John E. Lewy, M.D., Pro Parvulis Award
Kanwal Ojha

John Herr Musser, M.D., Memorial Prize
Marcus Warner Moses

John M. Smith Jr., M.D. Award For Outstanding Community Service
Taylor Nicole Santoro

John T. Halsey Award
Soo Hyun Choi

Joseph Hume Memorial Award In Urology
Jacob William Greenberg

Jules B. Puschett, M.D. Award
Mashli Fleurestil

Kathy Newman Pediatric Award
Emily Sarah Zlotnick

Kemal Akdamar, M.D. Memorial Award
Caroline Young Rourke

Leon A. Weisberg, M.D. Memorial Award
Somdeb Banerjee

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award Presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation
Mashli Fleurestil

Louisiana Academy of Family Physicians Family Medicine Excellence Award
Moira Ellen Wood

M.D. /M.P.H. Student Award for Excellence
Saihariharan Nedunchezhian

Merck Manual Award for Academic Excellence
Katherine Anne Cironi
Hunter Forrest Douglas
Gregory Matthew Lupica
Emily Mae Pemberton

Nicholas R. Diluzio Award
Emily Mae Pemberton

Order of the Gold-Tipped Stethoscope
Autumn G. Robinson

Oren B., M.D. and Jane Roberts Gum Rheumatology Award
Anna Christine Sanford

Oscar Creech, M.D. Award
Erin M. Moxley
Jonathan David Rizner
Arman Emmanuel Torosian

Querens-Rives-Shore Award in Cardiology
Yichi Zhang

Robert C. Baird III, M.D., Award
Mashli Fleurestil

Sam Hobson, M.D. Award
Saihariharan Nedunchezhian

Schwartz-Stuckey Award
Brittany Yve Gerstein

Scott Gregory Kramer, M.D. Family Medicine Award
Lana Alexandra Kammerer

Sidney K. Simon Memorial Prize
Andre Dominic Sisk

The Rachel Pearline Senior Award
Emily Sarah Zlotnick

Thomas A. Giddings, M.D. Humanitarian Award
Michael Salim DeBakey

Tulane Caldwell Award
Sione AiSaati Ofa

USPHS 2022 Excellence in Public Health Award
Marcus Warner Moses

William W. Waring, M.D. Award
Alyisse M. Grossenbacher-McGlamery