School of Medicine physicians and scientists among Tulane Research Award winners



Tulane's 2022 Research, Scholarship and Artistic Achievement Awards were presented on Nov. 4, honoring outstanding scholars and recognizing "exceptional research achievement and impact on advancing knowledge in science, engineering, health, education, or creativity in the arts, the humanities and other academic fields of study." (Photo by Tracie Morris Schaefer)

Tulane's Research, Scholarship and Artistic Achievement Awards are given annually "to honor outstanding scholars and to recognize exceptional research achievement and impact on advancing knowledge in science, engineering, health, education, or creativity in the arts, the humanities and other academic fields of study." This year's honorees included a number of physicians and scientists from Tulane University School of Medicine.

2022 HALL OF FAME AWARDS

This prestigious lifetime achievement award recognizes a nationally and internationally renowned scholar/investigator who has made substantial contributions to advancing knowledge over his/her/their academic career.

JAMES ROBINSON, MD, Professor of Pediatrics, Department of Pediatrics, School of Medicine, and Director, Tulane University Physician Scientist Program View the video about James Robinson

2022 SPIRIT OF TULANE AWARD

This award recognizes outstanding achievement during the prior calendar year of a scholar/investigator whose work embodies Tulane's motto: Non sibi, sed suis (Not for oneself, but for one's own) while enhancing the research mission through education, creative expression, mentorship, and collaborative effort to advance knowledge.

HUA LU, MD, Professor and Chair, Reynolds and Ryan Families Chair in Translational Cancer, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, School of Medicine

TRACY FISCHER, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, School of Medicine, and Division of Comparative Pathology, Tulane National Primate Research Center

2022 GALAXY AWARD

This award recognizes substantial achievement of a scholar/investigator who has a strong five-year history of funding and of enhancing Tulane's research mission through scholarship, education, mentorship, and collaborative efforts.

CHAD ROY, PhD, Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, and Associate Dean for Research, School of Medicine, and Director, Infectious Disease Aerobiology, Tulane National Primate Research Center

2022 PROVOST'S AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN EQUITY, DIVERSITY, AND INCLUSION

This award recognizes a scholar for excellence in research that addresses societal inequalities and promotes social change. Some indicators of excellence include extramural support of related research and dissemination of findings through highquality peer-reviewed publications and national or international presentations that address societal inequities and promote social change. Broader impacts of EDI refers to the extent to which research advances participation of historically marginalized groups, promotes understanding of EDI, addresses societal inequities, develops community engagement and partnerships, distributes finding widely to support broad research understanding, and/or innovate social change.

MARIE A. KROUSEL-WOOD, MD, Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology, Department of Medicine, Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, School of Medicine; Associate Dean for Public Health and Medical Education, School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine

2022 SPECIAL PRESIDENTIAL AWARD FOR ACADEMIC LEADERSHIP

These awards are for individuals who have exercised extraordinary institutional leadership in supporting and promoting excellent research at Tulane University.

LAURA S. LEVY, PhD, Professor Emerita, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, School of Medicine

2022 CONVERGENCE AWARD

This award recognizes a Tulane scholar or team of scholars who successfully collaborate across schools, units, and departments to surpass traditional academic disciplines and further the research mission.

XUEBIN QIN, MD, PhD, Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, School of Medicine, and Division of Comparative Pathology, Tulane National Primate Research Center

2022 STUDENT/TRAINEE RESEARCH MENTORING AWARD

This award recognizes an exceptional research mentor.

CARIAPPA ANNAIAH, MD, Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, School of Medicine, and Division of Comparative Pathology, Tulane National Primate Research Center

2022 FUNDING AWARD - STEM

These awards recognize the scholar/investigator in the STEM fields who has been awarded the largest combined dollar amount of funding for direct costs during the prior calendar year. **JAY RAPPAPORT, PhD,** Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, School of Medicine, and Director and Chief Academic Officer, Tulane National Primate Research Center

ROBERT GARRY, PhD, Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunobiology, School of Medicine

2022 CITATION AWARD

This award recognizes the Tulane author of the peer-reviewed article with the highest number of citations during the prior calendar year. The recipient must be the corresponding author and Tulane must be the corresponding institution.

A. OLIVER SARTOR, MD, C.E. and Bernadine Laborde Professor of Cancer Research, Department of Medicine, School of Medicine, and Medical Director, Tulane Cancer Center, for "Lutetium-117-PSMA-617 for Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer," New England Journal of Medicine, September 2021

2022 PUBLICATION AWARD - JOURNAL ARTICLE

These awards recognize Tulane scholars/investigators with the best journal article published in the prior calendar year.

CHAD ROY, PhD, Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, and Associate Dean for Research, School of Medicine, and Director, Infectious Disease Aerobiology, Tulane National Primate Research Center for "Exhaled aerosol increases with COVID-19 infection, age, and obesity," Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, February 2021

To see the full list of honorees, <u>click here.</u>