Tulane Home Tulane Shield logo linking to site home page

2022 Owl Award Winners

May 20, 2022 12:00 PM

R. Shane Tubbs, Ph.D., MS; Michelle Honda, MD; Aimee Aysenne, MD, MPH; and Mike Woodson are among this year's Owl Award winners.


The Owl Club at Tulane University School of Medicine is a service organization committed to fostering improved relationships between the medical student body and the faculty to achieve continual improvement of medical education. The club hosts an annual banquet where outstanding teaching awards are given to selected faculty members and departments. Congratulations to this year’s winners!

T1 Best Integrated Module

Cardiovascular, Dr. T. Cooper Woods, Ph.D.

T1 Course of the Year

Medical Histology, Dr. Lu Xu, Ph.D., MBA

T1 Best CBL/TBL Facilitator

Dr. Kenneth Mitchell, Ph.D.

T1 Professor of the Year

Dr. David Franklin, Ph.D.

Highest average review scores for T1 Lecturers
Dr. R. Shane Tubbs, Ph.D., MS, PA-C (4.60)
Dr. T. Cooper Woods, Ph.D. (4.60)

T2 Best Integrated Module

Basic Infectious Diseases, Dr. Kerstin Höner zu Bentrup, Ph.D.

T2 Course of the Year

Medical Pharmacology, Dr. Craig Clarkson, Ph.D.

T2 Best CBL/TBL Facilitator

Dr. Craig Clarkson, Ph.D.

T2 Innovation Award

Dr. Craig Clarkson, Ph.D.

T2 Professor of the Year

Dr. Elizabeth Crabtree, MD

Highest average review scores for T2 Lecturers
Dr. Elizabeth Crabtree (4.63)
Dr. Craig Clarkson (4.59)
Dr. Elma LeDoux (4.57)

T3 & T4 Awards

Best Family Medicine Preceptor

Dr. Marc Levin, MD

Internal Medicine: Best Resident

Dr. Katherine Peacock, MD

Internal Medicine: Best Attending Physician

Dr. Douglas Rovira, MD, FACP

Neurology: Best Resident

Dr. Tulolope Amiola, MD

Neurology: Best Attending Physician

Dr. Aimee Aysenne, MD, MPH

OBGYN: Best Resident

Dr. Heather Barnes, MD

OBGYN: Best Attending Physician

Dr. Yuri Simonian, MD

Pediatrics: Best Resident

Dr. Harrison Grieb, MD

Pediatrics: Best Attending Physician

Dr. Nicole Sheldon, MD

Psychiatry: Best Resident

Dr. Zakaria Ray, MD

Psychiatry: Best Attending Physician

Dr. James McConville, MD

Radiology: Best Resident

Dr. Michelle Honda, MD

Radiology: Best Attending Physician

Dr. Leslee McNabb, MD

Surgery: Best Resident

Dr. David Magno, MD

Surgery: Best Attending Physician

Dr. Steven Jones, MD, MPH

Overall Best Intern

Dr. Maya Roth, MD (Ob-Gyn)

Best Clerkship Coordinator

Mr. Adam Peltz (Family Medicine)

Best Clerkship

Internal Medicine, Dr. Chayan Chakraborti, MD, FACP, FHM

School-Wide Awards

Best Elective or Online Course

Palliative Care, Dr. Alexandra Leigh, MD

Best Standardized Patient

Mr. Benjy Minor

Best Overall Department

John W. Deming Department of Medicine, Chair, Dr. Victor Thannickal, MD

Outstanding Administrator

Ms. Victoria Bustamante (Neurology Clerkship Coordinator)

Most Adaptive Professor

Dr. Elizabeth Crabtree, MD

W. Clifford Newman Student Advocacy Award
Honoring the late physiologist and former associate dean of Tulane SOM, this award is presented to the faculty member who best advocates for the student body.

Recipient: Dr. Karen Weissbecker, LMSW, Ph.D.

Leon A. Weisberg Award for Excellence in Clinical Training
Presented to the clinical faculty member that displays the qualities of teaching, exemplified by the late Dr. Leon Weisberg, former Chief of Neurology, during the relocation of Tulane SOM due to Hurricane Katrina.

Recipient: Dr. R Shane Tubbs, Ph.D., MS, PA-C

The “Spirit of Tulane” Award
This award goes to the individual that the student body feels best exemplifies the spirit of what it means to be a Tulanian.

Recipient: Mr. Mike Woodson