Skip to main content
Tulane Home Tulane Home

Research ~ Core Facilities

Cancer Genetics Program - COBRE Core
Melody Baddoo
1324 Tulane Avenue, JBJ/425
New Orleans, LA 70112
mbaddoo@tulane.edu
504-988-0568

Clinical & Translational Core Facility
Shanker Japa, PhD
Japashan@tulane.edu
504-988-4011

Tulane Center for Gene Therapy

Hayward Genetics Center

Cytogenetics Lab: (504) 988-2995
Biochemical Lab: (504) 988-2993
Molecular Lab: (504) 988-3934 

Tulane Cancer Center Cores

Molecular, Imaging and Analytical Core—THRCE
504-988-4364

Animal & Gene Targeted Core Facility
Ryosuke Sato
Rsato@tulane.edu

Kailash N. Pandey
Kpandey@tulane.edu
504-988-1628

Mouse Phenotyping Core Facility
Dewan S.A. Majid
Majid@tulane.edu
504-988-2600

Molecular Neuroscience Core Facility (a joint project of Tulane and LSU)
Jeffrey Tasker, Director
Tasker@tulane.edu
504-862-8762

Molecular Biology

  • Nucleic Acid Biochemistry
    • Single Cell RT-PCR
    • RT-PCR (genotyping)
    • Realtime PCR (relative or absolute quantification)
    • Cloning and vector construction
    • Northern Blotting
    • In situ Hybridization
  • Protein Biochemistry 
    • Western Blotting
    • Enzymatic activity assays
    • ELISA

Recombinant Virus Production

  • The MNCF can generate, expand, and titer three commonly used viruses:
    • Lentivirus
    • Adeno-associated virus
    • Pseudorabies virus

Carmel Bridgeman, Coordinator
Cbridgem@tulane.edu
504-862-8195 

Seahorse – Cellular Bioenergetics Core—Med and Pharm
Prasad V.G. Katakam
Pkatakam@tulane.edu
504-988-1426

Shared Instrumentation Facility – Department of Biochemistry
Miriam Ruiz
biosif@tulane.edu
504-988-7165
Imaging and Detection
Sample Processing and Analysis
Liquid Chromatography
Centrifugation
Supply Center

Transgenic Mouse Facility
Ann Mullin
amullin@tulane.edu
504-865-6742

Tulane Center for Aging
Genomics and Biostatistics Core

Tulane National Primate Research Center Cores
Bacteriology & Parasitology

  • Diagnostic Parasitology
  • Vector-Borne Diseases Core
  • DNA Microarray and Expression Core
  • Cloning and vector construction
  • Enzootic Pathogens Survey

Mario Phillip
TNPRC-BactPar@tulane.edu
504-862-8040 

Comparative Pathology

  • Necropsy and Biopsy Service Core
  • Clinical Pathology
  • Molecular Pathology
  • Confocal Microscopy and Image Analysis

Regenerative Medicine

  • Vector Development and Production Core
  • Stem Cell Production Core

Immunology

  • Flow Cytometry Core
  • Immunology Core

Microbiology

  • Viral Diagnostic Core
  • Retrovirus Challenge Stock Production & SIV/HIV Isolation Core

Veterinary Medicine

  • Animal Colony Management & Care
  • Animal Resources
  • Preventive Medicine
  • Surveillance, Diagnosis, Treatment and Control of Animal Diseases
  • Environmental Enrichment
  • Animal Resource Allocation
  • Serum Bank
  • Breeding Colony Management
  • Clinical Imaging
  • Surgical Support
  • Genetics and Genome Banking Core