Faculty Physician-Scientist Pipeline Program (PSPP)

PSPP Overview

The Tulane School of Medicine is pleased to announce its Faculty Physician Scientist Pipeline Program (PSPP). The mission of the Dean’s Faculty Physician Scientist Pipeline Program is to prepare and foster career development of early-stage physicians and increases the number of highly qualified, competent, and clinically-trained scientists who pursue careers focused on translating research evidence into clinical practice and improved patient care. 

The program will support a cohort of exceptional junior faculty (PSPP scholars) for a period of up to two years (with annual review). Awards (up to $100K in salary support/year) are supported by the SOM Dean’s office to facilitate the development and participation of high-quality research that will lead to enhanced patient care.  Areas of special interest include, but are not limited to, cardiometabolic diseases, pulmonary diseases, aging, and cancer across the lifespan in males and females.  Selected candidates must commit a minimum of 50% of time/year to research and career development as a PSPP Scholar. For each candidate, the application requires a letter of support from their department chair committing up to $25,000/year to support the PSPP scholar's annual research-related expenditures, including but not limited to research supplies, staffing, professional meeting expenses, and related travel to present research. Scholars who successfully attain a K award (or equivalent) or R01 (or equivalent) as PI automatically graduate from the program early.

Process And Key Dates

March 15 – Deadline for Phase I Application.

April 15 – Deadline for full application. (By invitation)

July 1 – Projected start date.

PSPP Tools and Links


Center for Clinical and Translational Science at UAB: https://www.uab.edu/ccts/

The Louisiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Center (LA CaTS)  (https://www.lacats.org)

Southern Society for Clinical Investigation (https://www.ssciweb.org/index.php)

Current Scholars

Our Scholars