Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences

John Thompson, MD

The Tulane Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, founded in 1949, is dedicated to teaching, clinical service, and research. Educational experiences designed to teach the next generation of clinicians are provided through integrated medical student training and multiple residencies that include general psychiatry, combined psychiatry and internal medicine, forensic, child and adolescent, and triple board programs. We also provide postdoctoral fellowships, psychology internships, and annual continuing medical education programs. Led by John Thompson, MD, Chair of the department, our more than 50 full-time, multidisciplinary faculty have a wide range of expertise and are continually pioneering innovative clinical programs. Research from our faculty has been transforming our understanding and treatment of emotional and behavioral problems across the lifespan.


Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
1440 Canal St.
Suite 1000
New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone: 504-988-5246
Fax: 504-988-4270

Departmental News

We are pleased to announce that several members of our department have recently been recognized with awards. Stacy Drury, MD, PhD will receive the 2022 SOM Faculty Recognition Award for Research - Basic Science. Myo Thwin Myint, MD will receive the 2022 Faculty Recognition Award for Professionalism. Ashley Weiss, DO, MPH will receive the 2022 Gloria P. Walsh Award for Teaching Excellence by the Tulane Owl Club. J. Brad McConville, MD was selected as the Best Attending Physician in Psychiatry by the Tulane Owl Club. Zakaria Ray, MD was selected as the Best Resident in Psychiatry by the Tulane Owl Club. Congratulations to all of our award winners!


Dr. Myo Thwin Myint was named a Distinguished Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association in January 2022. The Distinguished Fellowship is awarded to outstanding psychiatrists who have made significant contributions to the psychiatric profession in at least five of the following areas: administration, teaching, scientific and scholarly publications, volunteering in mental health and medical activities of social significance, community involvement, as well as for clinical excellence. Distinguished Fellow is the highest membership honor the APA bestows upon members. Dr. Myint came to Tulane University School of Medicine in 2008 for his integrated triple board residency. He joined the faculty in 2013. Dr. Myint now serves as training director of the Triple Board Residency and Child & Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship Programs. You can read more about his APA fellowship at this link. Congratulations, Dr. Myint!


Dr. Ashley Weiss, Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Director of Medical School Education, was named an Exceptional Woman in Medicine for Child and Adolescent Psychiatry by Castle Connolly and EHG. Congratulations, Dr. Weiss!


Dr. Stacy Drury, Professor of Child Psychiatry and Vice-Chair of Research in the Department of Pediatrics, was recognized for her exceptional research at the first Tulane University Research, Scholarship, and Artistic Achievement Awards Ceremony held on Thursday, November 4, 2021. She received the Convergence Award, which honors scholars or teams who collaborate across fields and departments to transcend traditional academic disciplines. Dr. Drury is also the Chief Research Officer at Children's Hospital New Orleans. Congratulations, Dr. Drury!


The Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences is proud to count two of UMC's Intern, Resident & Fellow of the Year Nominees and Winners among our staff! Dr. Sherry Liang (Internal Medicine) was nominated for Intern of the Year, and Dr. Danielle Takai-Castioni (Psychiatry) was selected as Intern of the Year. Congratulations, Dr. Liang and Dr. Takai-Castioni!