Pulmonary Diseases, Critical Care & Environmental Medicine

x-ray illustration of lungs

Welcome to the Tulane University Section of Pulmonary Diseases, Critical Care and Environmental Medicine. Everything we do is centered on our belief that the people of the gulf south merit local access to the best possible health care.  We teach foundations and innovations in medicine to the doctors of the future.  And because we hold dear our obligation to educate bright inquiring minds, we are dedicated to deliver evidence based and cutting-edge medicine.  What is more, we are devoted to research that will improve upon health care in the coming years.  We feel privileged to have made research contributions along the way, and look forward to shaping future advancements in health care.Read More

In step with Tulane Medical School's mission, our section is dedicated to provide:

  • State-of-the-art patient care
  • Outstanding educational opportunities to students, residents and fellows
  • Innovative and relevant clinical and basic research

Please don't hesitate to contact us by mail, phone or e-mail.

Joseph A. Lasky, MD
Professor of Medicine
Chief Section of Pulmonary Diseases, Critical Care & Environmental Medicine
John W. Deming, MD Endowed Chair in Internal Medicine

Hide this content.

Best Doctors - Congratulations to

Best Doctors

Dr. Joseph A. Lasky
Dr. Ramsy Abdelghani
Dr. Cesar A. Aguilar-Lopez
Dr. David Becnel
Dr. Christine M. Bojanowski
Dr. Tania Boniske
Dr. Ross C. Klingsberg
Dr. Nereida A. Parada
Dr. Shigeki Saito
Dr. Victor J. Thannickal
Dr. Jerry Zifodya

These physicians were recognized as the best doctors of Pulmonary Medicine in the state of Louisiana by Best Doctors, Inc., a company that has built a database of professionals that are highly regarded by their peers. For a complete list, visit the New Orleans Magazine website.

Recent News & Events


The referenced media source is missing and needs to be re-embedded.




 Dr. Zifodya


Dr. Zifodya has been awarded a Firland Foundation Research Grant for his grant entitled “Host Clinical and Immunological Risk Factors Associated with Post-Tuberculosis Lung Disease (PTLD) among Kenyan and Ugandan Adults.” He aims to identify subtypes of post-tuberculosis lung disease and their associated risk factors. This grant will fund extended programs for ongoing studies in Kenya and Uganda and continue to build capacity at these study sites.







Dr. Shigeki Saito's grant application entitled “Defining the Roles of Fibulin-5 in Pulmonary Fibrosis”, submitted for pilot funding to the Louisiana Clinical and Translational Science (LA CaTS) Center, was recently selected for funding by the LA CaTS Center Executive Council.







We are pleased to announce that Dr. Yasin Khan has been named the Medical Director of the Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation (ECMO) Program at University Medical Center New Orleans. He will be working alongside the other members of the program committee to provide this highly specialized form of life support to our patients with advanced respiratory and cardiac failure. Dr. Khan is a recent addition to our section, having joined us from Toronto General Hospital and University of Toronto where he gained expert training and experience in several modes of extracorporeal life support and advanced mechanical ventilation. Congratulations, Dr. Khan!




Derek Pociask, PhD We are pleased to announce that Derek Pociask, PhD, has accepted the position of Director of Graduate Education for the Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program. Dr. Pociask will undertake efforts to advance the quality and diversity of the school of medicine graduate programs and will develop and expand programs to involve undergraduate and medical students with research opportunities. Dr. Pociask will also work collaboratively with the Assistant Dean of the BMS program to develop programs that enhance opportunities for PhD students, as well as other aspects of the PhD and MD/PhD programs. Congratulations Derek for being selected for this key role!

Dr. Pociask is an Assistant Professor in the John W. Deming Department of Medicine, Section of Pulmonary Diseases, Critical Care, And Environmental Medicine. After earning his Ph.D. in the Department of Pathology at Louisiana State University Health Science Center in 2000, he undertook his post-doctoral training here at the Tulane University school of Medicine. In 2006 he moved to the University of Pittsburgh where he established his research program centered around pulmonary mucosal immunology and infectious models of lung injury and repair. Since moving back to Tulane in 2016, he has been actively engaged in the BMS PHD program as well as undergraduate, Masters and Medical Students.

Congratulations to Dr. Joshua (Josh) Denson, on being selected as new Associate Program Director for our Internal Medicine Residency Program (IMRP). He will work with Program Director, Dr. Deepa Bhatnagar, and Associate Program Directors, Drs. Kristin Bateman, Adrian Baudy, Anthony Marsh, Robert Miller, and Erica Tate, MD, to advance the education and training we provide to our residents in internal medicine.







Dr. Yasin KhanPlease join me in congratulating Dr. Yasin Khan for his recent selection for the competitive Tulane Physician Scientist Pipeline Award! This is a terrific achievement that will undoubtedly help advance Yasin’s research efforts at Tulane!

Yasin’s research is focused on the management of acute hypoxemic respiratory failure (AHRF) and understanding how this broader syndrome is related to ARDS. His projects will investigate how mechanical ventilation strategies for ARDS can be extrapolated to patients with AHRF and the clinical outcomes associated with this approach. He is also interested in clinical and cost-effectiveness decision modeling to help optimize the delivery of evidence-based mechanical ventilation to critically ill patients with AHRF.



group picture of doctors in operating roomMilestone Friday! We performed the first two Ion Robotic Bronchoscopies with real time Philips 3D Cone Beam CT imaging in Louisiana. Nothing better for diagnostic yield and accuracy! Also, we hit 250 total navigational bronchoscopies with cone beam CT! Next goal: 250 Ion + CBCT.
doctors performing robotic bronchoscopies








Dr. Himmat GrewalCongratulations to Dr. Himmat Grewal for receiving the Rising Star Award at University Medical Center. The honor recognizes Himmat for moving the needle by doing great work to better the health of everyone in our region. This is such a remarkable contribution during his first year as a faculty member in our section. Thanks for your dedication and clinical prowess, Himmat!!!







Chad Roy, PhDWe are pleased to announce an addition to the Pulmonary Research Faculty, Dr. Chad J. Roy. Dr. Roy is a career aerobiologist focused on respiratory health and the aerobiology of airborne infectious diseases; specifically, on gaining a better understanding of aerosol infection in the context of the development and application of preclinical disease models; the majority of efforts are directed in the use of the nonhuman primate for this purpose.

Click here to read additional News & Events.